The 7 Wonders of Spain you Should Visit

Spain is not just a world for itself – it is a world in itself. If you are planning to visit Spain, then you should explore these 7 wonders of Spain.

Mosque of Cordoba spain 7 wonder

1 The Mosque of Cordoba

The Mosque of Cordoba is one of the greatest monuments in the world. Once the principal mosque of Western Islam and still known as Mezquita, the mosque of Cordoba. It is the largest in the world and the finest achievement of Moorish architecture in Spain. The Mezquita has hundreds of identical columns topped with red and white stripped arches. They are stunningly beautiful and inspiring. Whole building consists – The columns, Bell tower, Patio de las Naranjas, the Mirhab, Central Dome, the cathedral. 

The Great Mosque of Cordoba is a major example of the capacity of the Muslim world to brilliantly construct structural styles that depended on the preceding regional conventions.

This monument, a World Heritage Site or one of the 7 Wonders of Spain, offers us an extraordinary journey through history and art and architecture of Spain. Cordoba is a two-hour train ride south of Madrid, and attracts visitors from all over the world as one of the best places to go in Spain.

2 The Alhambra in Granada

seven wonder of spain Alhambra in Granada

Alhambra is a palace and fort complex located in Andalusia, Granada, Spain. It was originally built as a small fort in AD 889. The Alhambra is located at a strategic point, above the mountainous al-Sabika with a view over the entire city and the plains (La Vega).

It is very famous due to its red walls. The architecture, gardens and water features were something worth seeing. It runs along the valley of the Daro River on its northern side and the valley of Al-Sabika on its southern side. The gardens of the Alhambra represent a piece of paradise, so the view is peaceful and delightful. When you pass through the gardens you can feel the essence of Jasmine flowers around you. If you are planning to visit this beautiful UNESCO site, you must book your tickets in advance.

3 The Aqueduct of Segovia

The Aqueduct Of Segovia UNESCO sites

The Aqueduct of Segovia, one of the important symbols of Segovia. Aqueduct of Se­­­govia is believed to have been formed during the Flavian dynasty, dating from the late first century to early second century under the Emperors Vespasian and Trojan to carry the waters of the Aisbera River to the city.

This impressive work of engineering, still in excellent condition, begins near the Palace of La Granja, in the form of single arches that bring water to a tank called El Caesron. Then, a stonework channel takes it to another tower, and when it arrives at the Plaza de Diaz Sanz, it begins to form two monumental rows of arches, one on top of the other. There is no mortar or cement between the 20,400 blocks of stone, which stand solidly in full balance of forces. The highest point of construction is at the Plaza del Azogo, where it is 28.10 meters high, with a total of 167 arches. Aqueducts transported water from the Fuante Phra River and serve as a source of water for the city of Segovia.

4 The Cathedral of Leon

Cathedral of Leon of Spain

Santa Maria de Leon Cathedral, also known as The House of Light or Pulchra Leonina, is a Catholic church in the city of Leon in northwestern Spain. People come from all over the world to see this Cathedral, which is very famous in seven wonder of Spain UNESCO sites. Cathedral is undoubtedly the city’s landmark; whose history begins in the 10th century.

Leon’s Cathedral is widely known for its 130 church windows and 3 rose windows, the temple’s real jewels: 1800 square meters of poly chrome stained-glass windows with medieval origins. It is one of the most beautiful Gothic cathedrals. Beautiful lines, amazing stained glass. When there is enough light outside, then do explore.

5 The Cathedral of Seville

The Cathedral of Seville

The Cathedral of the St Mary of which is better known as Cathedral de Seville is the Roman Catholic Cathedral in Seville, Spain. One of the world’s great and largest Cathedral. It was built between 1434 and 1517 which was earlier the main mosque of the city. And declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987. Constructed continuously for nearly a thousand years, it is undergoing major restoration today. It reflects the Spanish culture and art, a mixture of Moorish and Christian architecture. This huge cathedral of Seville is Ultra inspirational in its scale and splendor.

This place is truly amazing and a must see. You can explore many other attractions such as the Tomb of Columbus, art collection, Door of the Prince, beautiful carving of Dome and so on.

6 The Walls of Avila

The walls of Avila seven wonders of spain

The Wall of Avila is certainly the most magnificent monument of Avila and famous seven wonder of Spain. It encircles the old city, showing the wealth, power and influence that influenced this city, which was fortified centuries ago. Wall of Avila was built to defend the town’s population against the threat with a perimeter of approximately 2.5 km.

The height of the Avila’s walls are 12 m and 9 m thick with 88 towers placed at uniform intervals and 9 gateways. A very well-preserved monument that gives an excellent view to almost the entire city. Sounds like the pride and joy of local citizens.

7 The Sagrada Familia in Barcelona

Sagrada Familia in Barcelona spain 7 wonder

Famous as La Sagrada Familia, is an absolutely breathtaking church of Barcelona, Spain Designed by Catalan architect Antoni Gaudi. Sagrada Familia is still not completed, this project started in 1882 is expected to be completed in 2026.

Sagrada Familia is one of the most popular destinations in Barcelona and is also a central meeting point for many tourists. You can explore this magnificent work of architecture throughout the year during its opening hours.

Hope you enjoyed the above seven-7 wonders of Spain list…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *